Currumbin residents to nominate a Queenslander they admire

1 Aug 2012 4:51 PMJann Stuckey

1 August 2012

Member for Currumbin, Jann Stuckey MP, is encouraging Currumbin residents to nominate an inspiring person for the prestigious 2013 Australian of the Year Awards.

“It is all too rare that we get the opportunity to recognise outstanding people in our community and through competitions such as the Australian of the Year Awards we can do just that,” Ms Stuckey said.

“I’m confident many residents know a friend, family member, local hero or perhaps someone famous who makes our community a better place to live.

“Here in Currumbin we are a tight-knit community and this is our chance to acknowledge the people who deserve national recognition for their efforts.

“The announcement last year of Queensland Australian of the Year winners, Bruce and Denise Morcombe, allowed Queenslanders a chance to thank them for their tireless work as child protection advocates.

“I urge everyone to think carefully about a suitable person to nominate for this prestigious award.

“Nominations close on Friday 31 August 2012.Queenslandstate finalists will be announced in November, before progressing to the national Australian of the Year Awards ceremony inCanberraon Australia Day eve.

“For more information visit or phone 07 3405 5215.


Media enquiries:     5598 1387