Kirra SLSC Wins New Surf Rescue Board

28 Jul 2011 11:44 AMJann Stuckey

28 July 2011

Jann Stuckey, Member for Currumbin has congratulated the winners of this year’s Point Danger Branch ‘Patrol Club of the Year’, Kirra Surf Life Saving Club.

Ms Stuckey presented the winning club with a new surf rescue board at the annual awards evening to honour the achievements of the Point Danger clubs over the past year.

“Each year, the winner of the Point Danger Branch Patrol Club of the Year is determined using a point score system, with the club that attains the highest tally being announced as the winner.

“2010/11 was Kirra’s year, coming out on top of the competition between the 11 clubs in the Point Danger branch, eight of which are in the Currumbin electorate.   

“This is the seventh year running that I have donated a rescue board to the winning club, and I was delighted to present Kirra SLSC with a new board for their efforts over the past 12 months.   

“Surf life saving has a deep history in Currumbin and is an integral part of our community.

“What would we do without the passionate and dedicated Surf Life Savers and volunteers that support our surf clubs? 

“These hard-working individuals put in hundreds of hours on patrol, providing an invaluable service to the many tourists and locals who flock to our beaches all year round.

“Together over the past 12 months, the 11 clubs within the Point Danger Branch performed 288 rescues, 6550 warnings and 2360 first aid treatments, with no lives lost between the flags.

“I thank everyone who was involved in the awards evening for again making it an enjoyable event, and congratulate all members for their efforts.