North Kirra SLSC Wins Surf Rescue Board

6 Aug 2010 3:39 PMJann Stuckey

6th August  2010

Jann Stuckey MP, Member for Currumbin, has congratulated North Kirra Surf Life Saving Club on their achievement of winning the Point Danger Branch ‘Patrol Club of the Year’ Award. 

For the past six years, Ms Stuckey has donated a surf rescue board at the annual awards evening held to acknowledge the supreme efforts of members in the Point Danger Branch.  

“2009/10 has proven to be another successful season with fierce competition between the clubs,” Ms Stuckey said.

“There are 11 clubs in the Point Danger branch, with eight located in the Currumbin electorate.

“When you add up the hundreds of patrol hours some of these dedicated individuals give to their clubs you realise the intense level of commitment they have to the surf lifesaving movement.

“Each year, the winner of the Point Danger Branch Patrol Club of the Year Award is determined using a point score system, with the club that attains the highest tally being announced as the winner. 

“Competition was keen with every Point Danger club participating, and I extend my sincere congratulations to North Kirra for taking out this year’s prize.

“Together, the 11 clubs within the Point Danger Branch performed 219 rescues, 5155 preventative actions, 7661 warnings, 18 searches and 376 first aid treatments.

“What would we do without our hard working Surf Life Savers and the dedicated volunteers that support our Surf Clubs?  

“I thank everyone who was involved in making it an enjoyable evening and again congratulate the members of all clubs for their efforts over the past year.

Media Contact: Jann Stuckey 0439 755 919