North Queensland tourism celebrated at awards

23 Oct 2012 10:48 AMJann Stuckey

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Tourism operators throughout North Queensland have been recognised for their hard work and dedication to the industry at the annual Townsville Airport North Queensland Tourism Awards.

Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games Jann Stuckey has extended her congratulations to the 2012 award winners.

“The Townsville Airport North Queensland Tourism Awards recognise the countless hours local operators dedicate to ensuring visitors feel welcome and have the best possible experience,” Ms Stuckey said.

“I would like to congratulate all of the award winners, and Townsville Enterprise, for the outstanding work it does supporting the local industry.

“The Newman Government has recognised tourism as one of the four pillars of the Queensland economy and operators throughout Townsville and North Queensland will help us reach our goal of doubling overnight visitor expenditure to $30 billion by 2020.”

The 2012 Townsville Airport North Queensland Tourism Award Winners are:
•         Major Tourist Attraction: Billabong Sanctuary
•         Tourist Attraction: Museum of Tropical North Queensland
•         Major Festivals & Events: North Queensland Toyota Cowboys
•         Festivals & Events: Strand Ephemera 2011
•         Eco Tourism: Reef HQ Aquarium
•         Indigenous Tourism: Mungalla Aboriginal Tours
•         Specialised Tourism Services: Coupons Now
•         Visitor Information Services: Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre
•         Meetings & Business Tourism: Mercure Townsville
•         Tour and/or Transport Operators: Kookaburra Tours and Charters
•         Adventure Tourism: Remote Area Dive
•         Tourism Education & Training: Barrier Reef Institute of TAFE
•         Tourism Restaurants & Catering: Jupiters Townsville
•         Hosted Accommodation: Hidden Valley Cabins
•         Unique Accommodation: Island Leisure Resort
•         Deluxe Accommodation: Mariners North Holiday Apartments
•         Backpacker Accommodation: Bungalow Bay Koala Village
•         New Tourism Development: Leahton Park Country Cabins
•       Southern Cross Austero People’s Choice Award: Texas Longhorn Wagon Tours & Safaris
•      Outstanding Contribution by a Volunteer or Volunteer Group: Tyto Wetlands Information Centre Volunteers
•       Young Achiever Award: Nadia Jones
•       Richard Power Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Individual: Fred Nucifora

[ENDS] 21 October 2012