Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards Open

7 Apr 2010 10:39 AMJann Stuckey

7th April 2010

Jann Stuckey MP, Member for Currumbin, is urging Currumbin residents to get creative for the 2010 Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards.

This national awards program recognises work by budding and established authors alike, ranging from fiction and non-fiction to film scripts, short stories and poetry.

Works can be submitted by authors, publishers, producers, literary agents or theatre companies, and entrants can nominate multiple titles in different categories.

Prize money for 12 categories including scripts, non-fiction and children’s books is $15,000, while the winner of the major Fiction Book Award will be awarded $25,000.

“These awards are a fantastic opportunity to showcase Australian talent and recognise the incredible gift our writers have to offer,” Ms Stuckey said.

“All writers in the Currumbin Electorate are encouraged to enter, not just published authors but also young emerging writers and unpublished indigenous writers who deserve recognition of their talent.

“For more information about the awards or how to nominate, visit www.literaryawards.qld.gov.au or contact Aimee Feldman from the Department of Premier and Cabinet on (07) 3224 2614.

Entries must be submitted by 5pm on Monday 10 May, with short listing in August and winners to be announced on or after 31 August.


Media Contact: Jann Stuckey 0439 755 919